My Attempt to Crochet

Sorry for not being able to post anything new on my blog for the past 2 weeks, the first week the entire family was sick, the weather hasn’t been great here in Jordan, but El Hamdolelah we are so much better 🙂  The other week, well, to be honest i was just lazy and very tired of the past week 😀

So during that week i have decided to learn and practice crochet. I have been taught to knit by my mother since I was 10, and I improved my skills the past 3 years by searching the internet and buying great books….However, I always wanted to learn how crochet, I have been fascinated by the patterns and the finished look of crocheted projects…..So, I thought “how hard it would be to learn it!!”

I don’t know if you ever heard of Ravelry, but it’s like Facebook  for crocheters and knitters! (and it’s addictive) it was the perfect place for me to find free patterns to try out crochet, and i came across this lovely pattern  how gorgeous is that!!!! Of course I’m not planning on making a blanket, i want to take it slow, so I’m going to make a cushion using Lucy’s Summer Garden Granny Square and hopefully it will turn out as beautiful as her blanket 🙂

I have already started the past week and I have finished 21 pieces!!! ahhhh I love crochet….where have you been in my life!

Some people may think that it’s silly to crochet or knit (or any other craft)…they belive why bother? you can buy that ready from shops…..but,you see, I LOVE making things from scratch, from food to home decor to garments, it just makes me feel satisfied…even if it’s not 100% “perfect”  It’s just the idea of creating something from simple things that appeals to me….I mean if you look at it it’s just threads and some tool (crochet hook/knitting needles/sewing needle) that creates these beautiful things we see everyday….Do you agree with me? Or am I the only one here that appreciate handmade work! (I hope not)

So, what is you favorite craft, do you knit or crochet…if you don’t will you ever try it?

About Sura

Hi my name is Sura, i currently live in Amman, Jordan. I am a wife to my amazing Husband Sohaib, and a Mother to the cutest 2 year old Mohammad. I love to create things. I love to knit, craft, bake, cook, shop and read.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Attempt to Crochet

  1. Amnah says:

    I’ve always wanted to learn how to knit AND crochet! My mom is amazing at crochet. Unfortunately she still hasn’t taught me how. Crochet, gardening, and making bread are the top three things I hope to learn from her.
    I agree that there is a certain satisfaction from creating handmade things. Not everyone can appreciate handmade/homemade creations.

Leave a Reply

